PWPSD celebrates Indigenous Graduate Awards


Peace Wapiti Public School Division (PWPSD) is honoured to celebrate its young Indigenous leaders through the Division’s Indigenous Graduate Awards.

On June 20, the PWPSD Indigenous Education Services team hosted its annual celebratory luncheon to honour Indigenous graduates for their hard work and dedication to their academic, artistic and athletic achievements, engagement in culture, leadership, kindness, and resilience. The event included prayers, words of encouragement, dancing and quality time spent together.

Al Crawford

Award recipients were nominated by their teachers and were presented with one of the 7 Sacred Teachings: love, respect, honesty, courage, wisdom, humility, and truth.

Congratulations to this year’s award recipients on all their hard work:

  • Mariah Desjarlais (Truth, Beaverlodge Regional High School)
  • Amber Thomas (Humility, Ridgevalley School)
  • Arianna Morrison (Courage, Spirit River Regional Academy)
  • Corrie Jakubowski (Love, Sexsmith Secondary School)
  • Gavin Corr (Respect, Peace Wapiti Academy)
  • Jane Horseman (Wisdom, Beaverlodge Regional High School)
  • Rebecca Rocha (Honesty, Peace Wapiti Academy)

Kennedy Savard, Beaverlodge Regional High School graduate, was nominated by several staff members and recognized for her Student Leadership. She was awarded a bursary to assist in reaching her post-secondary aspirations.

In addition to the 7 Sacred Teachings and Student Leadership awards, each Indigenous PWPSD graduate received an eagle feather representing connection to the Creator, respect, honour, strength, courage, and wisdom.

Eagle Feathers

PWPSD would like to thank Elders, Knowledge Keepers, and cultural leaders Barb, Marlene, Theresa, Al, and Monique for participating in the ceremony. Congratulations to all our Indigenous graduates!